Article image


October 6, 2015

2015 Annual Meeting at the USAS Convention

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports Convention in Kansas City, Mo. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held officer elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.

U.S. Masters Swimming is pleased to announce the results of elections to the Board of Directors: Patty Miller (Virginia) was elected and will serve a two-year term as president. Ed Tsuzuki (New Jersey) will continue to serve as vice president of administration. Chris Stevenson (Virginia) will continue to serve as vice president of local operations. Chris McGiffin (New Jersey) will continue to serve as vice president of programs. Frank “Skip” Thompson was elected and will serve as vice president of community services. Chris Colburn (Illinois) will continue to serve as secretary. Ralph Davis (Michigan) will serve as treasurer.

The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Dr. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of this award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to USMS's mission. The 2015 recipient is Meg Smath (Kentucky).

Each year USMS and partner Speedo honor a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters Swimming with an all-inclusive approach that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year's Speedo/USMS Coach of the Year is Marty Hendrick (Florida Gold Coast) of Swim Fort Lauderdale.

Volunteers who have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national levels and whose service stands out in scope and impact are honored with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award, named for one of USMS's first super-volunteers. The 2015 recipients are: Marc Anderson (Minnesota), Harold Boscovich (Pacific), Denise Brown (Michigan), Nancy Brown (Maryland), Linda Chapman (Pacific Northwest), Ed Coates (South Texas), Suzi Green (Wisconsin), Cathy Hallman-Kenner (South Carolina), Dan Kornblatt (Niagara), Sue Nutty (Nebraska), Robin Smith (Southern Pacific), Jeff Strahota (Potomac Valley), Joanne Wainwright (North Carolina), Mark Wussler (San Diego Imperial), Susie Young (Oregon).

The USMS Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The Kerry O'Brien Coaches Award is named to honor the Walnut Creek Masters (Pacific) coach who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. The 2015 recipients are: Doug Springer (Saddle Brooke Masters Swim Team), Kathy Coffin-Sheard (Grand Traverse Masters Swimming), Joel Wilson (Santa Cruz Masters), Victor Hecker (Las Vegas Masters), Rand Vaillancourt (Anne Arundel Amphibians), Dave Samuelsohn (Westchester Masters Swimming), Steve Hennessy (Fort Eustice Aquatic Center).

USMS considers club development a priority, and recognizes a club every year with the Club of the Year Award. Masters clubs that do the most to promote USMS's values and mission in their communities and at the national level are candidates for this award. This year's Club of the Year is Swim Fort Lauderdale (Florida Gold Coast).

The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to USMS's growth, improvement, or success. The award is named for the author of USMS's first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many early newsletters and other publications. This year's recipient is Rich Burns (Pacific).

The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year for the National Championship Meets Award. The recipient of this award has made significant contributions to the success of championship-level competitions by providing excellent competitive conditions for racing at national or international meets. This year's recipient is Kim Crouch (Pacific Northwest).

The Open Water Service Award is a new award that debuted in 2013, to honor an individual who has made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming. This year’s award recipient is Jim Wheeler (Pacific). 

The USMS Fitness Committee annually presents the USMS Fitness Award to recognize outstanding achievement in fitness activities within USMS and is presented to individuals or organizations demonstrating outstanding contribution to fitness activities benefitting USMS members. This year's award recipient is Lisa Ward (Pacific).

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award recognizes one individual each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the USMS National Office staff with its professional duties of servicing, promoting, and building the membership. The award is named in honor of a longtime leader who helped establish the foundation for USMS's evolution into a professionally operated organization. This year's recipient is Nadine Day (Indiana).


  • About USMS


  • Awards
  • Volunteers
  • Press Releases
  • Convention