Article image


September 30, 2018

Award recipients were announced Saturday at the annual meeting at the USAS Convention

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its 2018 annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports Convention in Jacksonville, Fla. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held at-large director elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.

USMS is pleased to announce that the following at-large directors were re-elected or elected for their zones: Carrie Stolar (Breadbasket), Jeff Strahota (Colonies), Maddie Sibilia (Dixie), Dan Cox (Great Lakes), Matt Miller (Northwest), Chris Campbell (Oceana), Ed Coates (South Central), and Teddy Decker (Southwest).

The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Capt. Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Capt. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. This year’s recipient is Ed Tsuzuki (New Jersey).

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, the recipients are Brian Albright (South Texas), Bob Anderson (Pacific), Diane Bartlett (South Carolina), Lisa Brown (Indiana), Anita Cole (Southern Pacific), Alina de Armas (Southern Pacific), Christina Fox (Oregon), Brandon Franklin (Southern Pacific), Laurie Hug (Delaware Valley), Mary Jurey (South Texas), Dave Kough (Minnesota), Judi Norton (Lake Erie), Ray Novitske (Potomac Valley), Leslie Scott (South Carolina), and Lisa Watson (Georgia).

The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipients are the Pacific Masters Update Editors: Bob Anderson, Jeremy Cohen, Peg Flynn, Ali Hall, Linda Hepworth, Carol Nip, and Linda Schoenberger.

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a local and a regional club every year with the U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Local Club of the Year is Greenville Splash (South Carolina). This year’s Regional Club of the Year is North Carolina Masters Swimming (North Carolina).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. This year’s recipients are Susan Bradley-Cox (Wildcat Masters), Muriel Cochran (Grayfins Masters), Matt Miller (Southern Oregon Masters Aquatics), Carol Nip (Albany Armada Aquatic Masters), C.J. Rushman (Anderson Barracuda Masters), Erika Stebbins (UCLA Bruin Masters), Trey Taylor (Gaston Gators), and Elaine Valdez (Masters of South Texas).

The USMS Fitness Committee annually presents the U.S. Masters Swimming Fitness Award to recognize outstanding achievement in fitness activities within USMS and is presented to individuals or organizations demonstrating outstanding contribution to fitness activities benefitting USMS members. This year's award recipient is Cindy Myer (North Texas).

The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets for its U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award. The award recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions, including international meets. This year’s recipient is Mel Goldstein (Indiana).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming; contributing notably, such as serving in USMS national committees, LMSC open water or long distance chair, event or safety director, official, coach, clinician, or volunteer); contributes notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable achievement and impact. This year’s award goes to Rob Copeland (Georgia).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Officials Excellence Award is given annually to a Certified Official in recognition of outstanding and significant contributions to U.S. Masters Swimming at the international, national, zone, and/or local level, including pool and open water competitions. The recipient isn’t required to be a U.S. Masters Swimming member. An individual may receive this award only once. The recipient may be a currently active official or one who has retired from officiating or is deceased. This year’s award recipient is Pat Baker (Florida).

Each year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year is April Cheadle (Puget Sound Masters).

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally-operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming. This year’s recipient is Susan Ehringer (Kentucky).


  • About USMS


  • Awards
  • Volunteers
  • Press Releases
  • Convention