Article image


September 24, 2016

2016 USMS Annual Meeting at the USAS Convention

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports Convention. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held at-large director elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.

USMS is pleased to announce that the following at-large directors were reelected for their zones: David Diehl (Colonies), Dan Cox (Great Lakes), Sarah Welch, (Northwest), Leianne Crittenden (Oceana), and Laura Winslow (Southwest); and the following new at-large directors will be joining them: Tom Moore (Breadbasket), Rob Copeland (Dixie), and Ed Coates (South Central).

The Capt. Ransom Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Capt. Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Capt. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. This year’s recipient is Nadine Day (Indiana).

Each year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s USMS Coach of the Year is Scott Bay (Central Florida YMCA Masters).

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, the recipients are: Jacki Allender (Oregon), Diann Bauer (Ozark), James Biles (Wisconsin), Ken Brisbin (Southern Pacific), Judy Gillies (Arizona), Steve Goldman (Florida Gold Coast), Mary Graves (Kentucky), Doug Handler (Michigan), Christine Maki (Southern Pacific), Tom Mester (Kentucky), Carrie Stolar (Minnesota), Laura Val (Pacific), Gary Whitman (Oregon), Steve Weatherman (North Carolina), David Wierdsma (Pacific).

The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient is Karlene Denby (Gulf).

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a local and a regional club every year with the Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Local Club of the Year is Palmetto Masters (South Carolina).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. This year’s recipients are Chris McPherson (Ensworth Aquatic Masters), Doug Fetchen (Palmetto Masters), Clay Kolar (Saluki Masters Swim Club), Linda Irish Bostic (Palm Beach Masters), Patrick Thoreson (Nautical Milers Special Needs Swim Team), Megan Lassen (Swim Fort Lauderdale), Fred Russell (Elmbrook Masters), and Mike Lucero (Golden Road Aquatics).

The Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming; contributing notably, such as serving in USMS national committees, LMSC open water or long distance chair, event or safety director, official, coach, clinician, or volunteer); contributes notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable achievement and impact. This year’s award goes to Dick Sidner (Indiana).

The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets. The award recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions, including international meets. This year’s recipient is Don Gilchrist (North Carolina).

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally-operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming. This year’s recipient is Dr. Jim Miller (Virginia).


  • About USMS


  • Awards
  • Press Releases