Article image


September 16, 2017

USMS Annual Meeting at the 2017 USAS Convention

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports Convention in Dallas, Texas. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held officer elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.

U.S. Masters Swimming is pleased to announce the results of elections to the Board of Directors: Patty Miller (Virginia) was re-elected and will serve another two-year term as president. Peter Guadagni (Pacific) was elected and will serve as vice president of administration. Chris Colburn (Illinois) was elected and will serve as vice president of local operations. Donn Livoni (Montana) was elected and will serve as vice president of programs. Frank “Skip” Thompson (Michigan) was re-elected and will continue to serve as vice president of community services. Greg Danner (Niagara) was elected and will serve as secretary. Ralph Davis (Michigan) was re-elected and will continue to serve as treasurer.

The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Dr. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of this award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to USMS's mission. The 2017 recipient is Michael Moore (Pacific).

Each year USMS and partner Speedo honor a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters Swimming with an all-inclusive approach that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year's Speedo USMS Coach of the Year is Tim Waud (Oregon) of Oregon Masters.

Volunteers who have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national levels and whose service stands out in scope and impact are honored with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award, named for one of USMS's first super-volunteers. The 2017 recipients are: Maryanne Barkley (Ozark), Andrea Block (Illinois), MJ Caswell (Oregon), Jim Davidson (Pacific Northwest), Elyce Dilworth (Wisconsin), Sean Fitzgerald (Georgia), Karen Gernert (Indiana), Mollie Grover (Potomac Valley), Brian Hoyt (Colorado), Heidi Kafka (Illinois), Carolyn Moore (South Carolina), Erin Moro (South Carolina), Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (Southern Pacific), Kristin Volz (Florida Gold Coast), and Patrick Weiss (Michigan).

The USMS Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The Kerry O'Brien Coaches Award is named to honor the Walnut Creek Masters (Pacific) coach who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. The 2017 recipients are: Amy Browning (Greenville Splash), Robert 'Bo' Martin (Columbus Sharks Masters Swim Team), Bobby Goldie (Lobo Aquatics Masters Team), Bonnie Karas-Foltz (Bonnie Karas Racing Masters), Dean Hawks (Indy Aquatic Masters), Jamie Doctor (Lakeside Masters), Mike Hamm (Kroc Masters), and Shelly Rawding (Columbia Gorge Masters).

USMS considers club development a priority, and recognizes a club every year with the Club of the Year Award. Masters clubs that do the most to promote USMS's values and mission in their communities and at the national level are candidates for this award. This year's Local Club of the Year is Palm Beach Masters (Florida Gold Coast). This year’s Regional Club of the Year is Oregon Masters (Oregon).

The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to USMS's growth, improvement, or success. The award is named for the author of USMS's first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many early newsletters and other publications. The 2017 recipient is Cheryl Wagner (Potomac Valley).

The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year for the National Championship Meets Award. The recipient of this award has made significant contributions to the success of championship-level competitions by providing excellent competitive conditions for racing at national or international meets. This year's award is shared by Karin Wegner and Dan Wegner (Southern Pacific)

The Open Water Service Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming. This year’s recipient is Lynn Hazlewood (Potomac Valley).

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award recognizes one individual each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the USMS National Office staff with its professional duties of servicing, promoting, and building the membership. The award is named in honor of a longtime leader who helped establish the foundation for USMS's evolution into a professionally operated organization. The 2017 recipient is Rob Copeland (Georgia).


  • About USMS


  • Volunteers
  • Press Releases
  • Convention