Article image

by Daniel Paulling

September 25, 2021

Award recipients were announced USMS's virtual annual meeting

U.S. Masters Swimming elected officers to its Board of Directors and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards at its 2021 virtual annual meeting.

USMS is pleased to announce that the following officers were elected: Peter Guadagni (president), Chris Colburn (vice president of administration), Chris Campbell (vice president of community services), Ed Coates (vice president of local operations), Robin Smith (vice president of programs), Carrie Stolar (secretary), and Teddy Decker (treasurer).

The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Capt. Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. This year’s recipient is Bob Bruce (Oregon).

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, the recipients are Karlene Denby (Gulf), Karen Harris (Pacific), Jenny Hodges (South Dakota), Beth Nymeyer (Minnesota), Kay Turner (Niagara), Carol Nip (Pacific), Hill Carrow (North Carolina), Nancy Kryka (Florida), Adam Larson (Southern Pacific), Tim Timmons (Potomac Valley), Carl Millholland (Wisconsin), Chip Glidden (Missouri Valley), Catherine Rust (Florida Gold Coast), and Bill McCracken (Pacific).

The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient is Michelle Harter (Indiana).

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a local and a regional club every year with the U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Local Club of the Year is Marcia’s Enthusiastic Masters of Oakland (Pacific).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. This year’s recipients are Kiley Ames (Southern Pacific), Donita Flecker (Pacific), Andy Seibt (Illinois), Paul Landes (Montana), and Celia Wolff (North Carolina).

The Long Distance National Championship Award is presented annually to a USMS-registered individual or group that has made significant contributions to the success and promotion of USMS long distance national championship events. These include the five ePostals and six open water events. This year's recipient is Pacific Masters LMSC.

The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming; contributing notably, such as serving in USMS national committees, LMSC open water or long distance chair, event or safety director, official, coach, clinician, or volunteer); contributes notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable achievement and impact. This year’s award goes to Robin Smith (Southern Pacific).

The USMS Fitness Education Committee annually presents the USMS Fitness Award to USMS-registered individuals and organizations demonstrating outstanding contribution to fitness activities within USMS. This year’s award goes to Christie Ciraulo (Southern Pacific).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Officials Excellence Award is given annually to a Certified Official in recognition of outstanding and significant contributions to U.S. Masters Swimming at the international, national, zone, and/or local level, including pool and open water competitions. The recipient isn’t required to be a U.S. Masters Swimming member. An individual may receive this award only once. The recipient may be a currently active official or one who has retired from officiating or is deceased. This year’s award recipient posthumously goes to Ted Haartz (New England).

Each year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year is Chris McPherson (Southeastern).

The USMS National Championship Meets Award is presented annually to someone who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets. The award recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions (including international meets) held in the U.S. This year's recipient is Mark Rubacky (North Carolina) and volunteers.

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally-operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming. This year’s recipient is Kenny Brisbin (Southern Pacific).


  • About USMS


  • Awards