Article image

by Laura Hamel

September 16, 2012

2012 USAS Convention

September 16, 2012 - Greensboro, N.C.— 2012 United States Aquatics Sports Convention

U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports Convention. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held officer elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.

USMS is pleased to announce that Bruce Hopson (Ozark) and Jill Gellatly (Southwest) will be joining the Board of Directors. In addition, USMS Past-President Mel Goldstein has been named as a candidate for USAS to put forth to FINA to serve on the FINA Masters Committee.

The Capt. Ransom Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Capt. Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Capt. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. The 2011 recipient is Doug Church (Indiana).

Each year USMS and partner Speedo honor a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s Speedo USMS Coach of the Year is Stuart Kahn of Davis Aquatic Masters.

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award are: Jim Barber (Indiana), Marianne Bradley (Florida), Bob Bruce (Oregon), Chris Campbell (Pacific), Jim Clemmons (Pacific), Brian Cohn (Minnesota), Jill Gellatly (Gulf), Susan Kirk (New Jersey), George McVey (Niagara), Robert Mitchell (Southern Pacific), Debbie Morrin-Norlund (Colonies), Lori Payne (Ozark), Tom Spence (Lake Erie), Jeanne Teisher (Oregon), and Paul Wrangell (Pacific).

The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communicative efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the original author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient is Phil Whitten (Arizona).

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a club every year with the Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Club of the Year is the Sarasota YMCA Sharks Masters (Florida).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. The 2012 recipients are Valeriy Boreyko (University of San Francisco Masters), Tim Edmonds (Stanford Masters), Gary Henderson (Florida Aquatic Combined Team), Mark Kutz (Virginia Masters), Kurt Olson (Modesto Aquatic Club), Laura Schuster (Mountain View Masters), and Leslie Scott (Greenville Splash Masters Club).

The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets. The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions, including international meets. This year’s recipient is Jeff Roddin (Potomac Valley).

Three presidential citations were awarded at the USMS annual meeting as well: Nancy Ridout for eight years of service to the FINA Masters Technical Committee, Mel Goldstein for 16 years as treasurer for USAS, and to Ted Haartz for 32 years as liaison to USA Swimming.

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award recognizes one individual each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the U.S. Masters Swimming staff in the national office with its professional duties of servicing, promoting, and building the membership. This award celebrates the organization’s volunteer roots, as well as its future, specifically by recognizing efforts that support and assist the staff in its responsibilities. The award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970, who helped establish the foundation for U.S. Masters Swimming’s evolution into a professionally operated organization. During Haartz’s tenure as President, U.S. Masters Swimming became the only self-governed Masters organization in the world. This year’s recipient is Ed Tsuzuki (New Jersey).

About U.S. Masters Swimming

U.S. Masters Swimming, founded in 1970, is a membership-operated national governing body that promotes health, wellness, fitness and competition for adults through swimming. It does so by partnering with more than 1,500 adult swim programs across the country; promoting information via the bimonthly member magazine, SWIMMER, monthly e-newsletters,STREAMLINES, and website,; and by sanctioning and promoting pool, open water and virtual events and competitions. More than 55,000 adults are registered members of U.S. Masters Swimming.


Contact: Laura Hamel, U.S. Masters Swimming

Phone: (941) 556-6272; email: