Article image

by Author Unknown

December 31, 2008

USMS members in ISHOF

The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., contains the world's largest collection of aquatic memorabilia and the single largest source of aquatic books, manuscripts and literature. The museum, library and archive feature swimming, diving, water polo and synchronized swimming.
ISHOF is important to all of us because it chronicles the growth of our sport and is an outstanding resource for researching our history. When you walk through the Hall of Fame, you become immersed in facets of swimming you didn’t know about or had forgotten. The history of swimming is colorful and interesting and is sure to delight those of us who love the water. It is a very inspirational experience.

The International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) is a part of the International Swimming Hall of Fame. The inaugural induction for IMSHOF took place in January 2003.

ISHOF and IMSHOF are supported by memberships  and contributions. USMS and its members are major supporters of this organization. Contributions can be made directly to ISHOF or can be included when registering each year with USMS. 
The 2008 ISHOF induction ceremony was held in Omaha, Neb., during the Olympic Trials.  The 2008 IMSHOF induction ceremony will be held in Atlanta, Ga., during the USMS convention.
The following USMS athletes have been inducted into the International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame:
Honor Swimmers
2003: Clara Walker, Gus Langner, Jayne Bruner, Kelley Lemmon, Ardeth Mueller, Tim Garton, Maxine Merlino, Ray Taft, Graham Johnston, Barbara Dunbar, Gail Roper, June Krauser
2004: Paul Hutinger, Frank Piemme, Aldo da Rosa, Laura Val
2005: Burwell Jones, Tod Spieker, Sandy Neilson-Bell, Betsy Jordan
2006: Drury Gallagher, Katherine Pelton, Walter Pfeiffer, Rita Simonton, William Specht, Floyd Stauffer, Lavelle Stoinoff
2007: Woodrow Bowersock, Jean Durston, Sandy Galletly, Ronald Johnson, Karlyn Pipes-Neilsen

Honor Open Water Swimmer
2007: Suzanne Heim-Bowen

Honor Contributors
2003: Ransom Arthur
2005: Phil Whitten


  • Human Interest
  • About USMS


  • Awards
  • USMS Promo