Encouraging More Adults to Swim
USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee initiated a new award in 2008 with the goal of recognizing USMS coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout our country. Originally named the Grassroots Coaching Award, it has been renamed to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. It is with the efforts of individuals like these that U.S. Masters Swimming will most certainly move to a greater level.

2015 Kathy Coffin-Sheard
Victor Hecker
Steve Hennessy
Dave Samuelshon
Doug Springer
Rand Vaillancourt
Joel Wilson
2014 Jenny Birmelin
Noah Birmelin
April Cheadle
David Clark
Richard Garza
Mary Kahn
Steve Lintz
Dirk Marshall
Mary Nygren
Peggy Stringer
Patty Waldron
Lisa Ward
2013 Marcia Benjamin
Sue Berger-Mann
Mary C. Gibson
Doug Green
Donald B. Jackson
Mike Kazek
Greg Orphanides
Jan Peluso
Tom Reudy
Don Swalwell
Kendra Wheeler
2012 Valeriy Boreyko
Tim Edmonds
Gary Henderson
Mark Kutz
Kurt Olson
Laura Schuster
Leslie Scott
2011 Ken DeMont
Rich Axtell
Diane Bartlett
Elmer Egelkraut
Marty Hendrick
Tom Mester
Eric Peterson
Jody Smith
Brian Stack
Dennie Swan-Scott
Don Swartz
Hermine Terhorst
2010 Robert Babiak
Reed Barnitz
Chris Campbell
Suzanne Grebe
Stuart Kahn
Cokie Lepinski
Michael E. Lynch
Wendy Neely
Patti Scott-Baier
Frank "Skip" Thompson
2009 Dyann Charette Dancy
Jay Christiansen
Christopher Colburn
Linda Gilchrist
Dana Kirk
2008 Claire Broussard
Kathryn Gregory
Marilyn Grindrod
Conrad Johnson
Paul Jones
Cynthia Krass
Fred Nelis
Kerry O'Brien
Brandon Vail
Justin Welborn
Sponsor #29Sponsor #43Sponsor #59Sponsor #14Sponsor #25
Sponsor #57Sponsor #52Sponsor #20Sponsor #36Sponsor #49
Sponsor #56Sponsor #58Sponsor #13Sponsor #51Sponsor #42Sponsor #55Sponsor #41