Encouraging More Adults to Swim
1999 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Jim Miller, M.D.In the tradition of the award’s namesake, Dr. Jim Miller was selected as the Captain Ransom J. Arthur, M.D. Award recipient because of his commitment to and involvement in swimming and the health and fitness of swimmers. With experience as a physician, coach, and leader, Jim served at all levels of Masters swimming. Prior to receiving the award, Jim was Vice President of USMS, Medical Coordinator for numerous USMS National Championships, Chair of the USMS Sports Medicine Committee, Chair of the USMS Coaches Committee, Vice President of the Masters Aquatic Coaches Association, Chair of the Virginia LMSC, President of Virginia Masters Swim Team, and the 1986 USMS Coach of the Year. He also served on USMS’s Championship and Long Distance Committees.

In addition, Jim was involved in swimming beyond Masters, which benefited USMS’s ties in the swimming community. He was a coach and stroke and turn official for many years. He also served as a physician at the Olympic Trials for swimming 1996.

Jim’s medical practice has been tied to the encouragement of adult swimming and fitness. He is a family practitioner with a subspecialty in sports medicine. He was the medical director for the health club at which his Masters team swam and team physician for a local high school’s sports teams. Jim also published on swimming and adult athletes. The combination of Jim’s long-term commitment and service to USMS and his medical contributions to swimming and fitness led to the decision to present him with the 1999 Ransom Arthur Award.

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Ron JohnsonRon coached Sun Devil Aquatics/Arizona Masters in 1999.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

  Bill BlackGeorgia LSMC
  Diane BlackGeorgia LMSC
  Bob KolonkowskiMetropolitan LMSC
  Michael W MoorePacific LMSC
  Meg SmathKentucky LMSC
  Jim MatysekNiagara LMSC
  Lynn HazlewoodPotomac Valley LMSC
  Ed NesselFlorida LMSC
  Art MayerDelaware Valley LMSC
  Barry FasbenderPacific LMSC
  Frank L. "Skip" ThompsonMichigan LMSC
  Ginger PiersonOregon LMSC
  Jane MoorePacific Northwest LMSC
  Lil HanemanNew England LMSC

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Jim Matysek

Recipients of The USMS Athletes Inducted Into the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF)

  Maxine MerlinoMasters Swimmer
  Kelley LemmonMasters Swimmer

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Newsletter Of The Year Award

  Bill VolckeningBarracuda Bulletin (Tualatin Hills Barracudas)

Recipients of The David Yorzyk Memorial Award

  Danielle Ogier
Sponsor #52Sponsor #35Sponsor #43Sponsor #29Sponsor #25
Sponsor #51Sponsor #14Sponsor #20Sponsor #44Sponsor #33
Sponsor #42Sponsor #49Sponsor #13Sponsor #36Sponsor #50Sponsor #41