2011 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Rob CopelandGeorgia LMSC

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Chad DurieuxChad coaches at Rose Bowl Aquatics in Pasadena, CA

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

  John BaumanWisconsin LMSC
  Joanne BervenPacific LMSC
  Charles CockrellVirginia LMSC
  Herb CookPacific Northwest LMSC
  Malcolm CooperHawaii LMSC
  Daniel CoxLake Erie LMSC
  Leianne CrittendenPacific LMSC
  Richard Hap GentryOzark LMSC
  Jan GoffKentucky LMSC
  Heather HagadornColorado LMSC
  John KingPacific LMSC
  Pam OgdenMinnesota LMSC
  Mark OliphantMaryland LMSC
  Tracy RobinNorth Dakota LMSC
  Bob UpshawPacific LMSC

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award

  Rich AxtellRich Coaches the Minuteman Masters club.
  Diane BartlettDiane coaches the Grand Stand Masters.
  Ken DeMontKen coaches North Bay Aquatics with Don.
  Don SwartzDon coaches North Bay Aquatics with Ken.
  Elmer EgelkrautElmer coaches the Battle Creek Y Masters.
  Marty HendrickMarty coaches Ft. Lauderdale Aquatics.
  Tom MesterTom coaches Cresent Hills Masters.
  Eric PetersonEric coaches Shaker Sharks Masters.
  Jody SmithJody coaches Mountain View Masters.
  Brian StackBrian coaches Manatee Aquatic Masters.
  Dennie Swan-ScottDennie coaches Glens Falls Family YMCA Masters.
  Hermine TerhorstHermine coaches Santa Rosa Masters.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award

  Michigan MastersRegional Club of the Year
  Davis Aquatic MastersLocal Club of the Year

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award

  Jane KatzJane has written more than a dozen books on swimming or aquatics, contributed to scores of periodicals, presented at more than 100 lectures, and released four videos. In fact her nomination included 21 pages of references. She is a remarkable ambassador for US Masters Swimming.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Fitness Award

  Jane KatzJane has been a Masters swimmer for many years and she has devoted her life to the promotion of the Fitness side of our sport. Her resume includes over 14 pages of articles and speaking engagements and over a dozen books - all on swimming and it’s benefits for fitness and health.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Herb SchwabHerb has served as the Administrative Referee at many USMS National Championship meets, which will include both championships in 2012 (Greensboro and Omaha). He patiently deals with upset swimmers, willingly suggests changes to improve meets, works well with meet management, and makes for a great team with Hytek and meet referees.

Recipients of The Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award

  Ralph DavisUnder Ralph Davis, USMS has created an Audit Committee and Investment Committee. The Audit Committee meets annually face to face and has selected new auditors that specialize in non-profit accounting. An annual audit is now provided for USMS to ensure the organization is safeguarded and financially transparent. The Investment Committee likewise selected investment managers, meets annually and is responsible for implementing the USMS Investment policy. During this time Ralph oversaw the selection, purchase and installation of new accounting software. To the staff, Ralph has been a valuable resource, sounding board, and mentor. When it came time to bring production of SWIMMER magazine in house, Ralph was there to help staff review the responsibilities, contract and financial saving to USMS of more than $100,000 a year. When the employment management services provider changed, Ralph was instrumental as well in ensuring the organization and employees were protected. What you may not know, is that Ralph is a heart transplant recipient. He’s competed in the Transplant Games taking home his share of ribbons. Ralph has had a change of heart, but his commitment to USMS is unwavering.

Recipients of The USMS Athletes Inducted into the International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF)

  Rich AbrahamsHonor Swimmer
  Jeff Farrell
Sponsor #20Sponsor #13Sponsor #51Sponsor #29Sponsor #52
Sponsor #49Sponsor #14Sponsor #36Sponsor #43Sponsor #44Sponsor #25Sponsor #21
Sponsor #42Sponsor #35Sponsor #33Sponsor #41Sponsor #47Sponsor #45Sponsor #50