Encouraging More Adults to Swim
USMS Organization and National Committees

USMS is governed by its volunteers, also known as the House of Delegates. The HOD is composed of approximately 250 LMSC officers who attend our annual meeting at the United States Aquatic Sports Convention. At the annual meeting, the HOD elects the USMS Board of Directors.

The BOD is composed of 16 voting members. USMS legal counsel, past presidents and the executive director are nonvoting, ex-officio board members. The Executive Committee, to which members are elected in odd years, includes the president, vice president of administration, vice president of local operations, vice president of programs, vice president of community services, secretary, treasurer, immediate past president, legal counsel, and executive director. The remaining eight board positions, recognized as at-large directors, are elected in even years, one from each zone. BOD members are elected for two-year terms and may run for an additional two-year term, for a total of four years of service.

The USMS President appoints committee chairs and committee members with input from the vice presidents to whom they report. The USMS President also appoints special assignments and liaisons. Zone chairs are elected by their respective zone members.

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Nadine Day [email]

Vice President of Administration
Ed Tsuzuki [email]

Vice President of Local Operations
Chris Stevenson [email]

Vice President of Programs
Chris McGiffin [email]

Vice President of Community Services
Jody Smith [email]

Chris Colburn [email]

Phil Dodson [email]

Past President
Jeff Moxie [email]

Legal Counsel - Nonvoting
Patty Miller [email]

At-Large Directors

Bruce Hopson - Breadbasket Zone [email]

Dave Diehl - Colonies Zone [email]

Sean Fitzgerald - Dixie Zone [email]

Daniel Cox - Great Lakes Zone [email]

Sarah Welch - Northwest Zone [email]

Leianne Crittenden - Oceana Zone [email]

Jill Gellatly - South Central Zone [email]

Laura Winslow - Southwest Zone [email]

Nonvoting Members

Past Presidents

Tom Boak [email]

Rob Copeland [email]

Mel Goldstein [email]

Dan Gruender [email]

Ted Haartz [email]

Mike Laux [email]

Jim Miller [email]

Nancy Ridout [email]

Swimming Saves Lives Foundation

Brandon Franklin [email]

USA Swimming Representative

David Coddington [email]

Zone Chairs

Breadbasket Zone
Lori Payne [email]

Colonies Zone
Jeff Strahota [email]

Dixie Zone
Matt Hooper [email]

Great Lakes Zone
Sally Guthrie [email]

Northwest Zone
Tim Waud [email]

Oceana Zone
Michael Moore [email]

South Central Zone
Tyler Blessing [email]

Southwest Zone
Mary Hull [email]

Sponsor #50Sponsor #13Sponsor #43Sponsor #25Sponsor #44
Sponsor #51Sponsor #42Sponsor #41Sponsor #49Sponsor #33
Sponsor #29Sponsor #35Sponsor #20Sponsor #36Sponsor #14Sponsor #52