USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award

Established in 2013, the U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant service contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming in the following ways: Embodies the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming service; contributes to open water notably in several roles (i.e., USMS Open Water/Long Distance national committees, LMSC open water/long distance chair, event and/or safety director, official, coach, clinician, and/or volunteer); contributes to open water notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable service achievement and impact.

Please use this form to nominate a candidate for the USMS Open Water Service Award. Fill out completely to give your candidate the best opportunity to be selected. Submit by email no later than July 1 to You may attach supplementary information, candidate's open water resume and letters of support as appropriate.

2020 WIlliam Reeves
2019 Joel Wilson
2018 Rob Copeland
2017 Lynn Hazelwood
2016 Dick Sidner
2015 Jim Wheeler
2014 Glenda Carroll
2013 Bob Bruce