Encouraging More Adults to Swim
1994 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Nancy RidoutOriginally published in SWIM magazine, Sept-Oct 1994:

Every year since 1973, USMS has given the Ransom J. Arthur award to one who has contributed in an outstanding manner to Masters swimming. The award is given in honor of Captain Ransom J. Arthur, M.D., whose sacrifice, perseverance, and dedication to improving the health of adults through swimming, established the Masters swimming program in America.

The recipient of the 1994 Ransom J. Arthur Award is Nancy Ridout. Having been a swimmer and an administrator in Masters swimming since 1972, Ridout has dedicated her energies on a national, LMSC, and local level.

Ridout has served as USMS vice president and secretary and created and edited Places to Swim. She held the position of co-editor of Watermarks and USMS co-editor of SWIM magazine. She is now chairman of the USMS Marketing Committee and has served on six USMS committees since 1976.

For Pacific Masters swimming, Ridout has been registrar for the past 11 years and has served 14 years as Top Ten and records chairman. Also, she directs numerous PMS clinics and championship meets.

A member of the Tamalpais Aquatic Masters since 1972, Ridout's achievements in the water are equally outstanding. She has been named USMS All-American every year since 1972 and was named PMS Swimmer of the Year on seven occasions. Having attended 35 national championships, she has broken numerous national and world records. Nancy J. Ridout lives in Novato, Calif., and swims for Tamalpais Aquatic Masters.

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Todd Samland

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Gene Donner
  George Mc Vey
  Betty Barry
  Tom Boak

Recipients of The USMS Athletes Inducted Into the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF)

  June KrauserContributor

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Newsletter Of The Year Award

  Sheila BaskettGulf Masters Newsletter (Gulf LMSC)

Recipients of The David Yorzyk Memorial Award

  Karlyn Pipes-Neilsen
Sponsor #29Sponsor #49Sponsor #42Sponsor #35Sponsor #14
Sponsor #41Sponsor #51Sponsor #36Sponsor #33Sponsor #20
Sponsor #50Sponsor #13Sponsor #43Sponsor #25Sponsor #52Sponsor #44