2010 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Lynn HazlewoodLynn has been an active part of the USMS Communications Committee since it was created, and has been an important contributor to the USMS web site. She has also maintained the Long Distance Section of the USMS web site, and the USMS Calendar of Events for several years. Lynn's tireless behind-the-scenes activities during the development of SWIMMER magazine have been nothing short of extraordinary. In 2004, Lynn led the process of involving USMS members in advisory roles with the Transition Team, the Content Proofing Team, and the Editorial Board. While others were focused primarily on editorial content, Lynn realized very early on that USMS needed its own business management group for the magazine. In 2005, she developed the proposal to make the Editorial Board into the Editorial Committee, and the Committee became a standing committee in a time when USMS was actively seeking to reduce the number of committees. Lynn handpicked committee members for the new committee, held monthly conference calls with meeting minutes, and developed an editorial policy manual. Furthermore, she meticulously documented the whole process. Along with her strong direction of the business management, Lynn has been a guiding light for the editorial direction of the magazine. She has always asked us to think about who we are as an organization, and has challenged us to think of new ways to serve our members. She has actively participated in the annual planning of the magazine during the first two years, and has proposed several ideas relating to the balance of content and new types of content. I firmly believe that Lynn's volunteer activities on behalf of USMS should be the basis for more significant recognition, such as the Ransom Arthur Award, and it is my great pleasure to nominate her for the USMS Communications Award.

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Bobby PattenBobby coaches Dallas Aquatic Masters.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

  Paige BuehlerInland Northwest LMSC
  Victor BuehlerFlorida LMSC
  Glenda CarrollPacific LMSC
  Ralph DavisMichigan LMSC
  Doug GarciaColorado LMSC
  Sally GuthrieMichigan LMSC
  Caroline LambertPacific LMSC
  Sue MouchaFlorida LMSC
  Tina NeillMinnesota LMSC
  Fred NelisMichigan LMSC
  Ellen ParchenMontana LMSC
  Jeffrey RoddinPotomac Valley LMSC
  Ann Svenson
  Joel WilsonPacific LMSC
  Jill WrightSnake River LMSC

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award

  Chris CampbellChris coaches the Mountain View Masters.
  Frank "Skip" ThompsonSkip coaches the Michigan Masters.
  Stuart KahnStu coaches the Davis Aquatic Masters.
  Patti Scott-BaierPatti coaches the Tuolomne County Aquatic Masters.
  Cokie LepinskiCokie coaches the Marine Co. Pirates.
  Wendy NeelyWendy coaches the Federal Way Masters.
  Robert BabiakBob coaches the O*H*I*O Masters club.
  Suzanne GrebeSuzanne coaches the Milford Masters.
  Michael E. LynchMike coaches the Peninsula Covenant Masters.
  Reed BarnitzReed coaches the New Mexico Chargers Masters.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award

  Asphalt Green Unified Aquatic Masters

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award

  Pacific Masters LMSCThe Pacific Masters Communications team includes Joanne Berven - newsletter editor, Caroline Lambert - Facebook guru, Tracy Barbates, chief tweeter, and Michael Moore - Webmaster.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Fitness Award

  Nancy BrownNancy has been committed to providing fitness opportunities for her swimmers for decades and she exemplifies the mission of USMS.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Mark Moore

Recipients of The Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award

  George SimonGeorge has been the USMS Registration Committee chair since 2005. During the summer of 2007 he was very involved with the development and testing of the on line registration system. He led the weekly calls with the software developers where discussions of problems and enhancements occurred and he continues to be an active participant. George developed the On Line Tutorials which assist the LMSC registrars with instructions on how to use the program, create reports, and fix errors. He continues to monitor and correct billing and invoice problems that sometimes occur when a member makes a mistake while registering. George's assistance and support has been tremendously valuable to the USMS staff and the success of the USMS on line registration program.

Recipients of The USMS Athletes Inducted into the International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF)

  Richard BurnsHonor Swimmer
  Lois Kivi Nochman
Sponsor #14Sponsor #47Sponsor #21Sponsor #45Sponsor #33
Sponsor #52Sponsor #36Sponsor #49Sponsor #44Sponsor #42Sponsor #35Sponsor #20
Sponsor #41Sponsor #25Sponsor #13Sponsor #29Sponsor #43Sponsor #50Sponsor #51