2002 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Hugh MooreHugh and Jane Moore received USMS’s highest honor for service, the Captain Ransom J. Arthur, M.D. Award, so named for the founder of Masters swimming. They have been outstanding volunteers for USMS since 1979 when they were founding members of Swimmers of Wichita; Hugh was the club’s president, Jane the secretary/treasurer, and they hosted local meets. They continued their local service when they moved to the Northwest and became charter members of Federal Way Masters where Hugh again served as president and Jane as treasurer. This time their careers as meet hosts extended from local meets to LMSC and zone championships, National Postal meets, and three national championship meets. Local PNA members say “Hugh and Jane could talk them into anything.” Together they have served in seven different LMSC board positions for PNA including several terms each as president, and they have engineered many positive changes. On the national level, they have filled four committee chairmanships - Sports Medicine, Planning, Officials, and Communications, and one national office—Zone Chair. Hugh and Jane have served on twelve USMS committees and completed six special assignments including the National Registration Program and directing medical services at national championship meets. Ever since Jane found Hugh’s name on a bulletin board advertising Masters swimming at the Wichita “Y” 23 years ago, they have dedicated a large share of their lives to Masters swimming on all levels, not only as individuals but also as a team. Whatever one is involved in, the other actively supports. They have contributed substantially to Masters swimming on the local, zone, and national levels. USMS has always received “two for the price of one” when assigning one or the other to a major project or position.
  Jane Moore

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Jim MontgomeryJim coaches Dallas Aquatic Masters.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

  Sally Ann DillonPacific Northwest LMSC
  Mel DyckArizona LMSC
  Jeanne EnsignPacific Northwest LMSC
  Errol GrahamSouthern Pacific LMSC
  Jacque GrossmanSouth Carolina LMSC
  Michael HeatherSouthern Pacific LMSC
  Esther LymanNew England LMSC
  Wayne McCauleySouthern Pacific LMSC
  Sandy McNeelPacific Northwest LMSC
  Bob MerrickSouthern Pacific LMSC
  Steve Schofield
  Jessica Seaton
  Meegan WilsonFlorida LMSC

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Fitness Award

  Bill VolckeningFitness Web Administrator and Director of 2002 Check-Off Challenge

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Carolyn Boak

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Newsletter Of The Year Award

  Maria KaranungenThe Watershed (Dynamo Swim Club)
  David Shinn

Recipients of The David Yorzyk Memorial Award

  June Krauser
Sponsor #14Sponsor #52Sponsor #49Sponsor #51Sponsor #47
Sponsor #41Sponsor #42Sponsor #33Sponsor #45Sponsor #36Sponsor #20Sponsor #50
Sponsor #29Sponsor #13Sponsor #43Sponsor #21Sponsor #44Sponsor #25Sponsor #35