USMS Award Recipient

Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

Recipient: Lynn Hazlewood
Year: 2010
LMSC: Potomac Valley

Lynn Hazlewood began attending the USMS convention in 1989 and was a member of the Long Distance Committee, contributing greatly to the development of the first Open Water Manual. After being elected Zone Chair, Lynn served on the USMS Executive Committee from 2001-2005. She was tapped as chair when the Open Water Committee was established. She has also chaired the Editorial Committee and her expertise was sought out to run the Open Water and Branding Task Forces. One of Lynn's many strengths is her ability to effectively communicate within the group she is leading and she is able to make those around her feel valued in their contributions. Lynn has served on the Communications, Publication Management, and  Records and Tabulations committees. She also chaired the Transition Team that was instrumental in allowing U.S. Masters Swimming to take editorial ownership of its member magazine.

Lynn is also active within her LMSC and has held various positions over the years, including club President, Vice President, Social Chair, Membership Chair, LMSC Sanctions Chair and board member. She co-founded and is meet registrar for the Jim McDonnell Lake Swims.

The epitome of a dedicated volunteer to U.S. Masters Swimming, Lynn is often the first person considered when a new challenge faces U.S. Masters Swimming that needs an objective, reliable and knowledgeable leader. Although Lynn does not seek recognition for her work, U.S. Masters Swimming is proud to honor her with the Ransom Arthur Award.