2005 USMS Award Recipients

Recipients of The Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

  Betsy DurrantBetsy Durrant was announced as the recipient of the Ransom Arthur Award at the 2005 USMS Short Course National Championships in Fort Lauderdale. The award is given annually to the person who has done the most to further the objectives of Masters swimming. Recently, as Chair of the USMS Planning Committee, Betsy led the committee through a study that led to recommendations on restructuring of national offices and the USMS Board of Directors. Her leadership in this area will result in a transformed USMS governance structure and will ultimately strengthen our ability to further the goals of our organization. Prior to becoming Chair of the Planning Committee, Betsy held several leadership positions in USMS at the national level. She has served as Colonies Zone Representative, Zone Committee Chair and USMS Secretary. She is also a member of the USMS Endowment Fund Board of Governors. Betsy began her involvement in masters swimming in 1975. She was the first Chair of the Virginia LMSC, organized in 1980, and was instrumental in establishing the Virginia Masters Swim Team (VMST). Betsy held the position of LMSC Registrar from 1984 to 1995. Her continued involvement as LMSC Newsletter Editor and a member of the LMSC Board of Directors has contributed to further growth, now over 1000 registered swimmers. In her current capacity as VMST and LMSC newsletter editor, she constantly seeks to educate swimmers and look for ways to help individuals and local programs achieve success. She has also served as Meet Director for two important long-running Virginia Masters events: our annual Fall Invitational meet for 23 years and the Jack King One-Mile Ocean Swim for 19 years, a USMS national championship event multiple times. Betsy’s resume is indicative of her desire to undertake important jobs and contribute in any way that she can to our mission as an organization. In addition to these accomplishments, she works behind the scenes to attract new swimmers to the sport and to encourage others to become involved in her team, LMSC and national leadership, offering advice and assistance wherever needed. Her passion and enthusiasm for swimming are evident in all of these efforts.

Recipients of The Speedo/U.S. Masters Swimming Coach Of The Year Award

  Mark MooreMark coaches Mission Viejo Nadadores Masters.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

  Lee CarlsonPacific Northwest LMSC
  Peter CrumbineConnecticut LMSC
  Jan KavadasPacific Northwest LMSC
  Jane MastersBorder LMSC
  Don Mehl
  Nancy RidoutPacific LMSC
  Deb WalkerFlorida LMSC
  Jody WelbornOregon LMSC
  Jim WheelerPacific LMSC

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award

  June KrauserJune created, edited and published the Swim Master newsletter — the first official publication of USMS. In addition to being the first-ever recipient of the USMS Communications Award, this award will henceforth be named in June's honor.

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Fitness Award

  Doug BroganDoug Brogan and Marianne Brogan received the U.S. Masters Fitness Award in 2005. As members of OHIO Masters, Doug and Maryanne were co-directors of the 30 Minute Swim. This event challenges swimmers to swim for 30 continuous minutes, offering an alternative to the One Hour Postal event for swimmers preparing to step up to that challenge. As members of the OHIO Masters, who hosted the event for 2005, Doug and Maryanne worked to make this a very successful event.
  Marianne Brogan

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming National Championship Meets Award

  Tracy Grilli

Recipients of The USMS Athletes Inducted into the International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF)

  Burwell JonesHonor Swimmer
  Betsy JordanHonor Swimmer
  Sandy Neilson-BellHonor Swimmer
  Tod SpiekerHonor Swimmer
  Phil WhittenHonor Contributor

Recipients of The U.S. Masters Swimming Newsletter Of The Year Award

  Paul FreemanThe WetSet (Pacific Northwest LMSC)

Recipients of The David Yorzyk Memorial Award

  Michael Mann
Sponsor #51Sponsor #13Sponsor #21Sponsor #36Sponsor #35
Sponsor #33Sponsor #20Sponsor #29Sponsor #44Sponsor #50Sponsor #45Sponsor #49
Sponsor #42Sponsor #47Sponsor #43Sponsor #52Sponsor #25Sponsor #14Sponsor #41