USMS Award Recipients
Recipients of The David Yorzyk Memorial Award

The David Yorzyk Award was created in 1985 by Mani Sanguily in honor of David Yorzyk, a young swimmer who tragically lost his life in 1984 at the age of 19. David Yorzyk was an up and coming swimmer whose expertise was the 400 IM. His father, Bill Yorzyk, was well known for his butterfly mechanics and performance at the 1956 Olympics.

The award was presented annually to the swimmer who performed the most outstanding 400 yard individual medley at the Short Course National Championships. 2009 was the last year a selection was made.

2009 Alek Shestakov Alek was honored for having the best performance in the 400 IM at Short Course Nationals in Clovis, CA.
2008 Rick Colella Rick Colella, 57, was recognized for performing the most outstanding 400 IM at Short Course Nationals. in Austin, he bulldozed the previous record in the men's 55-59 age group by nearly six seconds (4:30.18). Colella represented the U.S. at the Olympics in 1972 and 1976 and won bronze in the 200 breaststroke in Montreal.
2007 Erik Scalise
2006 Charlotte Davis
2005 Michael Mann
2004 Barbara Dunbar
2003 Bumpy Jones
2002 June Krauser
2001 Jill Hernandez
2000 Jean Durston
1999 Danielle Ogier
1998 Aldo da Rosa
1997 Betsy Jordan
1996 Jack Mc Coy
1995 Raymond Taft
1994 Karlyn Pipes-Neilsen
1993 Timothy Garton
1992 June Krauser
1991 Fred Wiggin
1990 Gail Roper
1989 Drury Gallagher
1988 Cameron Reid
1987 Ardeth Mueller
1986 Elsa Matila
Sponsor #13Sponsor #36Sponsor #49Sponsor #20Sponsor #29
Sponsor #52Sponsor #51Sponsor #43Sponsor #41Sponsor #33Sponsor #25Sponsor #47
Sponsor #21Sponsor #50Sponsor #44Sponsor #14Sponsor #42Sponsor #35Sponsor #45