# USMS Convention — Anaheim (Garden Grove), California 2013

Committee Name: Open Water Session #: 2 Report #: 3

Committee Chair: Lynn Hazlewood Vice Chair: Rob Copeland

Minutes recorded by: Lynn Hazlewood Date/time of meeting: 9/13/13 4:30 - 5:30 PM

## **Actions Requiring Approval by the HOD:**

1. N/A

### **Motions Passed:**

1. N/A

Number of committee members present: 6 Absent: 9 Number of other delegates present: 22

Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair): Lynn Hazlewood (Chair), John Traynor, Jim Wheeler, Bob Bruce, Bill Roach, Joanne Wainwright

#### **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 pm

- 1. The entire meeting was devoted to the conclusion of the Safety Directors Clinic—Pre-Event Planning. This session was run by Jim Wheeler and consisted of an interactive panel discussion with the audience. The presentation PDF and accompanying documents are posted with these minutes.
- During the Friday, September 13 morning House of Delegates meeting, the Open Water Chair presented the inaugural Open Water Service Award to Bob Bruce. Members of the selection committee were drawn from both the Open Water and Long Distance committees: John Traynor (Chair), Rob Copeland, Ali Hall, Lynn Hazlewood, Donn LIvoni, Heather Stevenson, Sue Nutty, Jim Sauer and Joanne Wainwright.

#### Award presentation statement:

"The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming.

This year's honoree has excelled at the local, LMSC, Zone, and national level. In doing so, this individual has worn many "hats", as a major developer, founder, organizer, and promoter of open water in the roles of event director, safety director, referee, coach, mentor, clinic instructor, administrator, and swimmer."

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 pm