# 2021 U.S. Masters Swimming Annual Meeting — Virtual

Committee Name: Oceana Zone Session #: 1

Committee Chair: Sally Guthrie Vice Chair: n/a

Minutes recorded by: Ian King Date/time of meeting: September 7, 2021

## **Actions Requiring Approval by the HOD:**

1. None

#### **Motions Passed:**

1. 2020 Oceana Zone meeting minutes approved

Number of committee members present: 28 Absent: Number of other delegates present:

Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair): See page 2

**Committee Members Absent:** 

#### **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at 6:00pm PDT.

- 1. Sally welcomed all to the meeting and attendees introduced themselves.
- 2. 2020 Oceana Zone meeting minutes were approved.
- 3. LMSC reports:
  - <u>a.</u> <u>Hawaii</u>: Hawaii membership down by 1.8% as of 7/29/2021 compared to last year at the same point. Malcomb Cooper stepped down as the LMSC Chair. The new officers include: Anne Rillero (Chair), Kevin Drake (Secretary), Elizabeth Colwell (Treasurer), Toni Sinnott (Membership Coordinator), and Malcomb Cooper (Sanctions). Note: no Hawaii LMSC members were in attendance of this meeting. Above information supplied by Zone Chair, Sally Guthrie.
  - <u>b.</u> <u>Pacific</u>: As of 7/29/2020, membership is down 3.4% compared to the same time last year. Phyllis Quinn reminded attendees that during the upcoming annual committee meetings and HOD sessions to be courteous and mindful when asking questions/making a point. If another delegate has already asked the same question or made the same point, there is no need for redundancy.
- 4. Current Zone Chair, Sally Guthrie, has reached her 2 year term for the Chair role and a new Zone Chair is needed. Nancy Ridout nominated Ian King of Pacific Masters. There were no other nominations. Ian was unanimously elected as Zone Chair.
  - 5. Proposed rule/legislation changes that might be of interest to the Zone:
    - a. Some interest expressed in the Rules proposal on changing the date for times to be considered for records and Top 10 achievement. Attendees encouraged to read through the list of rule proposals before they were brought to floor for voting.
    - b. It was noted that several rule modifications are proposed to accommodate the 2021 LCM National Championship meet as well as proposal to move content related to technical rules for sanctions and recognitions from Part 2 to Part 1 of the Rules Book.
    - c. Long Distance committing is proposing the discontinuation of the Open Water Committee and incorporating those functions into Long Distance.
  - 6. New Business: No new business
  - 8. Adjournment: meeting adjourned at 6:49pm PDT

### **Attendees:**

Sally Guthrie

Phyllis Quinn

Chris Ottati

Ian King

Lorena Sims

Greg Stoner

Matt Roper

Chris Campbell

Michal Moore

Richard Burns

Juliet Cox

Donita Flecker

Jennifer Phalen

Dave Brancamp

Lisa Ward

Laura Val

Nancy Ridout

**Bob Anderson** 

Carol Nip

Bill McCracken

Teddy Palmer

Mike Abegg

John King

Vicki Shu

Linda Hepworth

Ali Hall

Marcia Benjamin

Peter Guadagni