
 

Rules Questions and Clarifications for Officials – November 2010 1 

Rules Questions and Clarifications for Officials 
November 2010 

by Kathy Casey, USMS Rules Chair 

1. Minimum number of officials 
Question: Am I correct that the minimal officiating crew for official times at a meet is 
three officials on deck at all times? 
Answer: No, the minimum number of officials can be two (103.1); one referee (who 
must be certified, 103.2), one starter, and two stroke and turn judges, but the referee and 
starter can both also serve as stroke and turn judges (hence the four positions can be 
covered by two people). The referee cannot also serve as a starter (103.1.1). 

2. Time trials 
Question: As a referee, do I have the authority to offer time trials at the end of the meet 
or spaced throughout the meet if a swimmer asks to swim an event a second or third time 
to try to break a record or if a swimmer missed an event? 
Answer: No, the order of events as stated in the meet announcement cannot be changed, 
and an event may not be added to a meet that is already in progress. The announced 
arrangement of heats in any event cannot be added to or altered, except by the authority 
of the referee only to the extent of consolidating heats (102.13.1). Time trials can be 
conducted at a meet if they were announced in the meet information and entry form, 
offered to all swimmers entered in the meet, and counted as part of the event limit per day 
per swimmer. If the primary timing system is fully automatic, record attempts can also be 
made during initial distances of longer events and during the leadoff legs of relay events 
(105.3.6). 

3. Choice of strokes during freestyle events 
Question: I told a swimmer that she could not do the 200 IM during the 200 free because 
once a stroke is selected in a freestyle event, you cannot change to another stroke during 
the race. The swimmer’s coach insisted I was wrong. Who was right?  
Answer: The coach was correct. In an event designated as freestyle, the swimmer may 
swim any style (101.5.2). There are no restrictions about changing the style of swimming 
during a freestyle event. The only restriction regarding style is during the freestyle 
portion of a medley event; in a medley relay or individual medley event, freestyle means 
any style other than butterfly, breaststroke or backstroke (101.5.2). Again there is no 
restriction about changing the style of swimming during the freestyle portion of the 
medley event. Regardless of the stroke(s) used, times achieved in freestyle events can be 
recorded only as freestyle times (103.12.2).  
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4. Medic alert bracelet 
Question: I wear a medic alert bracelet and have been told by some referees that it is not 
allowed to be worn during competition. What is the official ruling on this? I have Crohn's 
Disease, am immunosuppressed and allergic to latex, and thus my physicians have 
advised that I not remove the bracelet. 
Answer: You can wear the medic alert bracelet. It doesn’t provide any potential benefit 
for speed, and it is essentially a doctor’s note providing necessary information about life-
threatening medical issues. A doctor’s note requesting that the medic alert bracelet be 
worn during competition is not necessary. In fact, USMS has no rule addressing jewelry 
for pool competition. Some officials may remember the old “watch rule,” a former 
interpretation of the rule banning any device or substance to help speed, pace, buoyancy, 
or endurance (102.14.3 in the 2010 rule book, 102.14.6 in the emergency swimwear rule 
changes) that banned wrist watches from competition. That interpretation has not been in 
effect since June 2006. Note to officials: forcing a swimmer to remove a medic alert 
bracelet could cause liability issues for USMS if a medical emergency occurs resulting in 
injury or death. 

5. Written split requests 
Question: I swam a 1500 SCM and knew I could get the 800 LMSC record with an 
initial split. Having never done such a thing before, I read the rules and tried to follow 
them. I approached the meet referee and tried to submit my split request in writing. He 
didn't want to take the form, saying that the split time would show up in the meet results 
anyway. I used the meet results to submit the split time to the LMSC records officer. It 
apparently was not an "official" time under USMS rules, and would not have counted for 
Top 10 (which was not a concern!). 
Answer: Your written request for the split should have been accepted by the referee and 
your split time, if it was an automatic time, for the 800 should have been included in your 
LMSC's submission for USMS Top 10. USMS requirements for official split times are 
different than those for other swimming organizations and are published in the 
"Differences" documents for all the swimming governing bodies in Appendix B of the 
USMS Rule Book. For USA Swimming, the Differences are published in both the USMS 
Rule Book and the USA Swimming Rule Book. MS2.6.4, page 120, of the USMS Rule 
Book explains written notice of splits to the referee as well as other USMS split 
requirements that differ from USA Swimming rules. 

6. Backstroke turn 
Question: Has the backstroke turn changed? I do an open turn and was told that if I turn 
to my side as I come in, I must do a flip. I was told that when I turned toward my breast, I 
should have done a flip turn.  
Answer: If you were disqualified because you did not do a flip turn, that is an incorrect 
interpretation of the rule. If you were disqualified for not initiating the turn or for a non-
continuous turning action after turning past vertical toward the breast, those are correct 
interpretations of the rule (101.4.3). The USMS Rule Book specifically notes in 101.4.3 
that a swimmer can turn toward the breast and do an open turn. 
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7. Breaststroke kick 
Question: I’m asking for some clarification on 101.2.3. The last sentence says, 
“Breaking the surface of the water with the feet is allowed unless followed by a 
downward butterfly (dolphin) kick.” This applies to the dolphin kick permitted after the 
start and turn, correct? It seems obvious, but I just wanted to check since dolphin kick at 
any other time is not allowed. 
Answer: No, it refers to the breaststroke kick during the entire race. A swimmer’s feet 
can break the surface of the water during the breaststroke kick, and it is not a 
disqualification, unless it is followed by a downward dolphin kick (or unless there is a 
scissors, flutter, non-simultaneous movement of the legs, or the movement of the legs is 
not in the same horizontal plane). The dolphin kick after the start and the turn of course 
includes the downward portion of the butterfly (dolphin) kick, and that is permitted 
ONLY after the start and the turn and must be followed by a breaststroke kick. If the 
swimmer happens to be on the surface when taking that single, butterfly (dolphin) kick 
and happens to break the surface of the water with the feet, that is also not a 
disqualification.  
For any questions about rules contact Kathy Casey, USMS Rules Chair, rules@usms.org 


