In This Section
Encouraging More Adults to Swim
News Release

U.S. Masters Swimming Elects Officers/Honors Members At Annual USAS Convention

Dallas, Texas-- 2010 United States Aquatics Sports Convention

September 18, 2010 -  

U.S. Masters Swimming is pleased to announce the results of the 2010 at-large directors to the Board of Directors. New at-large directors joining the BOD are: Chris McGiffin, Maria Elias-Williams, Phil Dodson, Hugh More, Jim Clemmons, and Phil Whitten. Don Mehl and Anthony Thompson were re-elected as at-large directors as well. These officers join our other directors: Jeff Moxie, President; Michael Heather, Vice President of Administration; Ed Tsuzuki, Vice President of Local Operations; Dave Diehl, Vice President of Programs; Nadine Day, Vice President of Community Services; Ralph Davis, Treasurer; C.J. Rushman, Secretary, and immediate Past President Rob Copeland.

U.S. Masters Swimming also announced the award of two of its highest honors, the Ransom Arthur Award and the Speedo U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year Award, as well as several other awards:

The Ransom Arthur Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit of Captain Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Capt. Arthur envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition. Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and dedication to the mission of USMS. The 2010 recipient is Lynn Hazlewood from the Reston Masters Swim Team.

Every year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s Coach of the Year is Bobby Patten of the Dallas Aquatic Masters.

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award are: Paige Buehler, Victor Buehler, Glenda Carroll, Ralph Davis, Doug Garcia, Sally Guthrie, Caroline Lambert, Sue Moucha, Tina Neill, Fred Nelis, Ellen Parchen, Jeff Roddin, Ann Svenson, Joel Wilson, and Jill Wright.

The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communicative efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the original author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient was the Pacific Masters Swimming LMSC.

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a club every year with the Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs who do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year recipient club was Asphalt Green Unified Aquatic Masters.

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee initiated a new award in 2008 with the goal of recognizing coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout our country. Originally named the Grass Roots Coaching Award, it has been renamed to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. The 2010 Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award recipients are Chris Campbell, Mountain View Masters; Frank “Skip” Thompson, Michigan Masters; Stu Kahn, Davis Aquatic Masters; Patti Scott Baier, Tuolomne County Aquatic Masters; Cokie Lepinski, Marin Pirate Masters; Wendy Neely, Federal Way Masters; Bob Babiak, O*H*I*O Masters; Suzanne Grebe, MAC Masters, Mike Lynch, Peninsula covenant Masters; and Reed Barnitz, New Mexico Chargers Masters.

The USMS Fitness Committee presents the Fitness Award each year. This award recognizes outstanding achievement in fitness activities within USMS and is presented to individuals or organizations demonstrating outstanding contribution to fitness activities benefitting USMS members. Nancy Brown from Maryland Masters is this year’s recipient.

The USMS National Championship Meets Award is presented by the Raleigh Area Masters to the person or persons who contributed the most to USMS National Championship meets. This year Mark Moore from Mission Viejo Masters was honored.

Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award recognizes one individual each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the U.S. Masters Swimming staff in the national office with its professional duties of servicing, promoting, and building the membership. This award celebrates the organization’s volunteer roots, as well as its future, specifically by recognizing efforts that support and assist the staff in its responsibilities. The award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970, who helped establish the foundation for U.S. Masters Swimming’s evolution into a professionally operated organization. During Haartz’s tenure as President, U.S. Masters Swimming became the only self-governed Masters organization in the world. This year’s honoree is George Simon.

About U.S. Masters Swimming

U.S. Masters Swimming, founded in 1970, is a membership-operated national governing body that promotes adult health, fitness, wellness and competition through aquatics. It does so by partnering with more than 1,000 adult swim programs across the country that offer swim fitness programs, promoting information via the bi-monthly member magazine, SWIMMER; monthly e-newsletter, STREAMLINES, and; and by sanctioning and promoting pool, open water and virtual competitions. More than 50,000 adults are registered members of U.S. Masters Swimming.

Contact: Laura Hamel, U.S. Masters Swimming

Phone: (941) 556-6272; email:

Sponsor #25Sponsor #49Sponsor #36Sponsor #43Sponsor #29
Sponsor #35Sponsor #50Sponsor #13Sponsor #52Sponsor #51
Sponsor #33Sponsor #41Sponsor #42Sponsor #14Sponsor #20Sponsor #44