## USMS Convention — Greensboro, North Carolina. 2012

Committee Name: South Central Zone Session #: Report #:

Committee Chair: Tyler Blessing Vice Chair:

Minutes recorded by: Ed Coates Date/time of meeting: Sept 13 2012 8:00 AM

## **Actions Requiring Approval by the HOD:**

1. None

## **Motions Passed:**

- 1. MSA to endorse Jill Gellatly as South Central Zone nominee for at large BOD position.
- 2. MSA for Susan Ingraham to coordinate a 2013 South Central Zone Open Water Series/Championship to be approved by the committee at a later date.
- 3. MSA to select Jenks Oklahoma as host for 2013 LCM South Central Zone Championship July 19- 21.
- 4. MSA to select UT Austin as host for 2013 SCY South Central Zone Championship April 5-7.
- 5. MSA to select Bruce Rollins as 2012 Jesse Coon Award winner.

Number of committee members present: 17

Absent: Number of other delegates present: 0

Committee members present: Tyler Blessing (Chair), Jill Gellatly, Ed Coates, Steve White, Chris Lysinger, Susan Ingraham, Carolyn Boak, Tom Boak, Dewey Smith, Don Mehl, Lynn Morrison, Nicole Rembauch, Lisa Greedy, Kris Wingenroth, Jane Masters, Brian Albright, Steve Unruh (also attending: Ann Nellis, Jamie Lukeman from the University of Texas at Austin)

## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at 8:05 AM

- 1. Introductions of chair, committee members and guests.
- The nomination of Jill Gellatly as the at-large director from the South Central Zone was brought before
  the committee. Carolyn Boak acknowledged Don Mehl's services at the current director from South
  Central. MSA to endorse the nomination of Jill Gellatly.
- 3. The chair presented an initiative from the open water committee to consider a Zone open water series or open water championship. Susan Ingraham volunteered to coordinate the series (not the events themselves) Don Mehl discussed piggy backing of triathlon events for an open water swim. Discussion followed. MSA to authorize Susan Ingraham to explore current open water swims as possible zone championships or as part of an open water championship series.
- 4. Discussed the possibility of a SCM zone championship. Agreed that this was not economically viable and the zone had other priorities. No motion made.
- 5. 2013 LCM Zone Championship bid by Jenks Oklahoma for July 19-21, 2013. Dewey Smith presented photos and information about the new 50m indoor climate controlled facility in Jenks. Enthusiastic approval from the committee for the first zone championship outside of Texas in over a decade. LMSC

- chairs and other committee members agreed to promote the meet within their LMSC. MSA to award LCM zones championships to Jenks OK.
- 6. SCY 2013 UT Austin and the Woodlands were interested in hosting. The Woodlands agreed to withdrawal their bid in favor of Austin. Jill Gellatly spoke on the economics of hosting meets at expensive facilities such as UT Austin and Texas A&M including possible sponsorship of events by LMSCs with available funds. UT to Bid for April 5-7, 2013; may explore the following weekend. Discussion followed. MSA to award Longhorn Aquatics/UT Austin SCY zone championships in 2013.
- 7. Discussed ways for LMSCs to use LMSC funds to promote event participation. Lynn Morrison is hosting a workshop on LMSC use of funds later in convention. No motion.
- 8. Discussed nominations for the Jesse Coon award. Carolyn Boak nominated Bruce Rollins. Discussion of Bruce's contributions to masters swimming and spirit. MSA to award Bruce Collins the Jesse Coon Award.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 AM