# Oklahoma Masters LMSC Annual Meeting August 3, 2019

Louise Churchill, our current president, was out of town for the meeting. Janet Latham conducted the meeting in her stead.

Members present: Jon Dees, Mike Finley, Lucy Hengen, Phil Hengen, David Herrold, Kirsten Hoffman, Kathy Keffer-Sharpe, Ali Kerr, Janet Latham, Steve Lee, Christine Matarese, Marsha Mauldin, Adina Meilner, Alejandro Rojas, Denise Smart, Dewey Smith, Russell Smith, Andrew Travis, Dennis Wilson, and Howard Wolf

Janet called the meeting to order: at 1:45pm on 8/3/19

Approved 2018's minutes posted on www.okswim.org

Janet announced the new senior games meet on Sept. 7. Encouraged those to sign up and look at paperwork. Tall Chief is on Sunday, Sept. 8.

## **Report of the Officers:**

**Registrar** - Kirsten provided information regarding the continual decline of registration in Oklahoma, which matches the national trends of the past several years. She encouraged clubs to check their email about initiatives from the USMS governing body.

# Membership Statistics At-a-Glance

## Oklahoma 2019

- 146 Members Registered
  - o 85 Men
  - o 61 Women
  - 0 today
  - o 0 this month

## Oklahoma 2018

- 187 Members Registered
  - o 107 Men
  - o 80 Women
  - 0 today
  - o 6 this month

## Oklahoma Clubs

- 8 registered clubs for 2019
  - 8 registered clubs for 2018
- 17 self-identified coaches for 2019
- 15 self-identified coaches for 2018

#### National 2019

- 55,480 Members Registered
  - 29,533 Men
  - o 25,947 Women
  - 11 today
  - o 109 this month

# National 2018

- 60,389 Members Registered
  - o 32,214 Men
  - o 28,175 Women
  - o 27 today
- o 1,292 this month

# National Clubs

- 1,171 registered clubs for 2019
  - 1,077 registered clubs for 2018
- 4,481 self-identified coaches for 2019
  - 4,586 self-identified coaches for 2018

Kirsten also reported that she is on the National Registration Committee. Changes that have been recommended have been changing the name of registrars to membership servicer coordinators. There is also an initiative to stop providing paper registration cards and move entirely to web based registration. She asked the members to read over the agenda for the annual convention and to notify her if there is

anything that the Oklahoma LMSC was particularly passionate about, so she is aware as the voting delegate from the LMSC who will attend the convention next month.

**Treasurer** - Janet provided an overview of our treasurer's report as Tim Murphy was not able to be present. We have a balance of \$10,276.17. Tulsa Masters Swim Club received \$1,941.88 from profit sharing, while OK Masters Swim Club received \$197.

Janet announced she will be proposing club be able to request monies from the LMSC to host meets, as the cost of renting venues continues to increase.

**Sanctions Chair** - Jack Zedlitz, was absent. There was no report, although we have been getting our sanctions numbers so it seems that is working out.

**Top Ten/Records** - No report. Top Ten Chair Leo Mendoza was absent. Denise Smart asked the group to please provide any updates to Leo if you need anything needs to be updated. Dewey had to rebuild the records database by hand upon George Villareal's departure, and there may be some typos. Please also provide information and results to Leo Mendoza if you compete outside of the state.

Officials – No report.

Safety - Kathy Keffer-Sharpe has nothing to report as the Safety Chair.

Webmaster - Colin Drydale is still our webmaster. He is out of state, but he is very responsive.

## **Unfinished business:**

None.

#### **New Business:**

Janet noted that we need someone to replace Anita Walker as our rules person. Anita is no longer a registered member of OKMS, and has pointed out she is still listed. At the time of the meeting no one volunteered.

Janet requested nominations for Swimmer of the Year for 2019.

Janet Latham nominated Kirsten Hoffman as swimmer of the year based on her service as sanctions chair for three years, and registrar for three years

Denise Smart made a motion to approve her as swimmer of the year as there were no other nominees.

Kathy Keffer-Sharpe seconded.

A unanimous vote of yea was had to award this to Kirsten.

Meeting adjourned at 1:58pm

Respectfully submitted, Kirsten Hoffman.