## USMS Convention—Anaheim, California 2007

Committee Name:	Colonies Zone	Session #: 1	Report #: na
<b>Committee Chair:</b>	Debbie Morrin-Nordlund	Vice Chair: na	
Minutes recorded by:	Eric Nordlund	Date/time of meeting:	9/29/07, 10:30am

## **Action Items:**

- 1. Development of term limit policy and vice chair position description for Colonies Zone Operating Guidelines.
- 2. Clean up Colonies Zone e-mail list.
- 3. Develop periodic update/news e-mails from Zone with LMSC information.

Number of committee members present: 30Absent: naNumber of other delegates present: 1

**Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair):** Debbie Morrin-Nordlund, Dave Diehl, Ken Koppenhaver, Colleen Driscoll, Mary Field, Chris McGiffen, Susan Kirk, Paul Griffin, Tracy Grilli, Paul Windrath, Leo Letendre, Terry Sue Gault, Chris Stevenson, Mary Beth Haniver, Christine dos Santos, Galen Rinaldi, Michael Jacobson, Ray Novitske, Jim Miller, Eric Nordlund, Al Prescott, Rand Vaillancourt, Laurie Hug, Karin Adams, Ann Svenson, Patty Miller, Betsy Durrant, Mark Block, Conrad Johnson, Homer Lane

## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at 10:34am.

- 1. Attendees introduced themselves.
- 2. M (Dave Diehl) SA to approve April 2007 meeting minutes and e-mail votes held prior to convention.
- 3. The 2007 Colonies Zone Dot Award was presented to Patty Miller. Chair noted the lack of nominees in some years and stressed the Zone's desire to receive a nomination from each LMSC.
- 4. 2008 Colonies Zone Championship bids were discussed: a) SCY bid from George Mason Patriot Masters; b )SCM bid from Rutgers. Suggestions regarding order of events change will be forwarded to Rutgers. M (Betsy Durrant) SA to accept SCY GMUP bid for April 11–13, 2008, and SCM Rutgers for Dec. 5–7, 2008. Currently there is no bid for 2008 LC Colonies Zone meet. Tracy Grilli will discuss possibility of Middlebury College (Vermont) LC meet bidding. M(Dave Diehl) SA to allow e-mail vote on bid if received.
- Elections A) Delegates were reminded that next year will be the USMS elections for the at-large Board members (based on the Zones). Betsy Durrant gave an overview of the structure and procedure for the slate and election. B) Colonies Zone Representative election – Debbie Morrin-Nordlund nominated (Betsy Durrant), M (Jim Miller) SA election by acclamation.
- 6. New business A) The three meeting attendees celebrating their birthday today were recognized. B)Discussion ensued regarding possible term limits and the creation of a Vice Chair position. M(Jim Miller) SA to elect a Colonies Zone Vice Chair. Dave Diehl nominated (Betsy Durrant). M (Debbie Morrin-Nordlund) SA election by acclamation. C)Term limits and Vice Chair policies and descriptions will be worked on for the Operating Guidelines. D) Discussion of cleaning up e-mail list and of using list to e-mail LMSC and Zone updates periodically. Chair will work with LMSC Chairs for list member e-mails and material for periodic news mailing.
- 7. M (Ann Svenson)SA to adjourn at 11:19am.

The meeting was adjourned at